Brunel University London(伦敦布鲁内尔大学)entry requirements for Chinese students — minimum average mark, university list tiers and programme extras
Brunel University London (伦敦布鲁内尔大学) states in its 2024 entry requirements that direct master's applicants need a UK 2:2 or above, which for Chinese applicants translates to an average of 70 or 75 depending on where the bachelor's institution sits in the 2013 网大 ranking — 70 for institutions ranked559th or better, 75 for those ranked lower. Everything beyond that number depends on the specific programme.
The minimum average mark, and which degree class it maps to
The 2024 requirements give two figures, because a UK degree class is being translated:
| UK degree class | Chinese bachelor's average stated for 2024 |
|---|---|
| 2:2 | 70 or 75 |
| 2:1 | 75 or 80 |
The 70/75 split is the one anchored to the 2013 网大 ranking of domestic universities: 70 for institutions ranked 559th or better, 75 after that. The 2:1 line sits one band higher — 75 or 80.
So "70 or 75" is not a range the admissions team picks between at random. It is decided by where your university was ranked. The university does not publish in this document which specific institutions fall above or below that559th position, so treat the boundary as a reference point, not a lookup list — check the university's own pages, which take precedence.
How the university list tiers work
The tiering here is a ranking-threshold split, not a named school list. Institutions ranked 559th or better in the 2013 网大 ranking are read against the lower figure; everything ranked after that point is read against the higher one. The published material does not state how many Chinese universities sit on either side, so any count you see elsewhere is not from Brunel. Which named university lands in which tier is also not stated, so do not assume a placement from third-party summaries.
The document does not say whether later or revised ranking editions change the 70/75 split for later intakes. If you are not applying to the 2024 intake, check the university's own pages, which take precedence.
Programme-specific extras
Not every programme runs on the general rule alone. The requirements name one explicit case: MSc Integrated Product Design accepts2:2 entry but requires a portfolio submission.
For other programmes, the material does not set out individual requirements here. Standard taught master's entry at Brunel requires a UK 2:2 or above — anything above that, such as a GMAT score, an interview, or a further test requirement, should be confirmed on the university's own pages, which take precedence.
Study modes Brunel does not accept
Two restrictions in the 2024 requirements concern structure rather than marks, and they sit under undergraduate direct entry:
- No direct entry to the final year of a bachelor's degree.
- No top-up courses.
Self-study and distance learning degrees
The requirements state that Brunel accepts bachelor's degrees obtained through 自考 and 远程教育, with admission lines "as above" — the same thresholds, not a separate or lower bar. This is a stated position for Chinese applicants, not an inference.
Language requirements
Brunel accepts IELTS, Pearson, TOEFL and BrunELT (the university's own internal test).
The document also states a waiver: applicants holding a bachelor's degree obtained in the UK or another traditional English-speaking country are exempt from IELTS for master's applications. Hong Kong and Singapore are explicitly excluded from that waiver — an IELTS score report is still required there.
If you are working through an agent
The requirements point to a partner lookup page at brunel.ac.uk/international/agent-zone. The material does not endorse or describe any particular agent.
What to verify yourself
The figures above are the university's own 2024 intake statements. Average marks, degree class mappings, tier thresholds, programme extras and language rules can change between intakes, and this document does not cover fees, deadlines or funding — those are not stated in it. Where this article does not state something, check the university's own pages, which take precedence.